making dreams
come true

Imagine if… every elementary school student had access to enriching art, science, and robotics; every middle school student learned a second language; and every high school student could take all of the classes he or she needs, from AP Computer Science to Construction Management.


“To promote excellence in the educational experience of students who attend schools governed or authorized by the Mount Diablo Unified School District.”



  • Sponsor educational opportunities that foster a culture of excellence and inclusion in all MDUSD schools.

  • Provide funds and resources for K-12 educational activities beyond the standard curriculum including STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art and math).​


  • Collaborate with businesses and/or trades for alternative educational or vocational career technical experiences for students.​



       2018-19 Annual Report

       2017-18 Annual Report 

Annual Reports

Annual Report


Annual Report


our Story 

what we do 

check us out! 

We are a group of parents, teachers, staff, businesses and community members who came together in 2017 to ensure that every child in our district has access to quality education, regardless of zip code.  We believe that all children are “our children.” Current state funding of public schools is not adequate to prepare all students for a global economy. We strive to make up the difference.

Imagine if… every elementary school student had access to enriching art, every middle school student could experience the opportunities available to them in the sciences, and every high schooler had the opportunity to engage in meaningful STEM programs, including robotics and computer science. Join us, and you can help as we continue to turn this vision into reality!

The MDUSD Education Foundation provides STEAM-related enrichment opportunities to over 30,000 students in the Mt. Diablo Unified School District, no matter which school they attend.  We work in close collaboration with teachers, principals, and the school district while engaging the community at large to help bring new opportunities to students both inside and outside the classroom.

In two and half years, the foundation has funded and coordinated a very popular district-wide outdoor chalk art program with renowned local artist Mark Wagner.  This nearly-completed project will set a new Guinness record for the World’s Largest Illustrated Story, featuring brilliant, student-created, larger-than-life mascots from each elementary school. We’ve rolled out Art in Action, a hands-on art history experience for younger students. We’ve sent thousands of middle schoolers from multiple campuses on field trips to the Chabot Space & Science Center in Oakland to learn “How to be an Astronaut on Mars.” Among other programs, the foundation has also actively supported Project Lead the Way technology and science initiatives at our high schools, placing critical STEM tools into the hand of tomorrow’s leaders.

We encourage you to explore our site, read our annual report, and view a recent KPIX Channel 5 story about one of the foundation's projects. Like what you see?  Please consider donating and help us make a difference! We are grateful for your support.

Board of Directors

 Working in proud partnership with Mt. Diablo Unified School District

President — Mary Gray

Vice President for

  • Fundraising — 

  • Marketing — Frith O’Steen

  • Programs — Jessica Clark

Secretary — Mujdah Rahim

Treasurer — Matt Lovett

Financial Secretary — Sherry Whitmarsh

Volunteer Coordinator — Rachel Del Carlo Levy


Bridget Billeter

Ernie de Trinidad

Anita Johnson

Tina Segrove

Aasim Yahya

Nonvoting Advisors

Cherise Khaund

Isabel Lara

Linda Mayo                         

Board Member Application

Board Member Job Description 


Directors, appointed advisers, committee chairs and committee members shall receive no compensation other than standard, pre-approved reimbursement for routine expenses. The Foundation will have no employees, but will contract for services with a certified public accountant and legal counsel as necessary, and/or with outside service providers. 

This nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation is organized under the Nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation Law for charitable purposes and is not organized for the private gain of any person. The Foundation raises funds to help pay for a variety of programs that support student learning. The Foundation does not rent or sell its donor list. Legal name: MDUSD Education Foundation. Nonprofit Tax ID 82-3039803. 

P.O. Box 5151, Concord, CA 94524 • Nonprofit Tax ID 82-3039803 © 2020  PH (925) 338-0805 • Email